Books, Reviews, Prints

Federation Of State Humanities Councils Cites Grateful American Book Prize 2017

Federation Update

January 6, 2017

News from the Humanities Community

The Grateful American Book Prize has just announced that it will begin accepting submissions for its 2017 award on January 1.  The Prize is given each year for outstanding works of fiction and non-fiction based on historical fact and written to inspire 11- to 15-year-old students.  Books published between July 1, 2016 and July 31, 2017 are eligible.  This year’s award will be the third presented through this initiative, which was founded in 2015 by former NEH chairman Bruce Cole and author David Bruce Smith.  The first award went to Kathy Cannon Wiechman for her Civil War-era novel, Like a River, and last year’s award-winner was Indiana author Chris Stevenson for The Drum of Destiny, the story of a boy who joined the Continental Army in the fight for American independence. The award-winning authors receive a cash prize of $13,000, in recognition of the thirteen original colonies.